The Order Zingiberales
The Heliconia Society International includes more than just Heliconias.
It includes all eight plant families in the order Zingiberales.
The Rhizogram below clearly illustrates the relationship between the different plant families in the order Zingiberales.
Click on one of the branches or on the links below to learn more about the individual plant families.

  • Cannaceae (Cannas)
  • Costaceae (Spiral Gingers)
  • Lowiaceae
  • Marantaceae
  • Musaceae (Bananas)
  • Strelitziaceae (Bird of Paradise)
  • Zingiberaceae (Gingers)
  • Heliconiaceae (Heliconias)
  • A image gallery of the Heliconia Sections

    Heliconia Cultivar Registration
    Register a new heliconia cultivar with
    the Heliconia International
    Cultivar Registration Authority

    Recomended Reading...
    Heliconia : An Identification Guide
    Fred Berry and W. John Kress
    Click here to order online from

    Copyright 2000-2008 Heliconia Society International
    Contact Webmaster